Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Whats the diff between calc based and algerbra

1. Jan 7, 2013 #1
    Ok, so i just finished my first semester ever of calculus. I have never ever made it this far in math in my life period. im way excited. But im still new to calc and not sure what everything means or is. Physics 1 at my school is what they call calc based. I dont understand what they mean. apparently there is a algerbra based physics as well.

isnt physics physics? i mean i know that f=ma. but how does that involve calc? basically im looking for a single problem that can be solved algebraically and or with calc so i can see the difference. if that makes sense.

i know that freq=1/tone and via basic math tone=1/freq but who did we get those basic equations? is that where the calc comes in?

thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 8, 2013 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

An algebra based physics is just that there is no calculus; all problems can be solved using algebra. Trigonometry would also come into play in algebra based physics too.

Calculus based physics can get deeper into physics concepts where now you can derive the formulas that are only stated and used in a algebra physics course. Calculus gives you some powerful methods to solve more real world physics problems.

4. Jan 8, 2013 #3
    Calculus is when 'division' is not actually 'division' :).

5. Jan 8, 2013 #4

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

:confused:

6. Jan 8, 2013 #5
    Leibniz notation, I assume. Still doesn't make much sense in the context of the thread, though.

7. Jan 8, 2013 #6

russ_watters

Calculus based physics derives Newton's equations of motion from each other using calculus. Algebraic physics would likely just ignore that.

8. Jan 8, 2013 #7

BobG

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Simple answer.