1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying When you're not learning from studying

1. Aug 24, 2009 #1
    So often when I'm studying physics I'll read through a chapter - feel like I understand the material - look at the examples and get all excited that I might just have learned it!! ..then I get to the problems.

When my study time is being spent on solving problems and I hit a brick wall - I really hit a brick wall. I've found entire study sessions go by where I'm no better off at the end than I was at the beginning - and I understand the importance of trial and error but what should you do when your trials aren't getting you anywhere? Wouldn't constant reliance on tutors or others breed a sort of laziness and memorization rather than deep analytical understanding?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 24, 2009 #2

thrill3rnit3

Gold Member

Re-read the chapter until you fully and completely understand the material. Of course you're going to think that you "get it" because the example problems are easier than the actual end-of-chapter problems, and the solution is usually laid out step by step so it looks like you understand how to do it.

For physics problems, I think I benefit greatly from making a diagram of whatever's being asked, then applying the techniques taught in the chapter to complete my solution. That seemed to work about 80% of the time.

4. Aug 24, 2009 #3

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

You may need more time to learn successfully than most people. Put in that time and you should find results you want, maybe not when you want, but sooner than if you did not put in the extra time. (Then, change your intended major course of study).