Where can I find some easy Astro/Cosmo papers?

• Thread starter dreamLord
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Papers
In summary: If you want to know more about what is going on try talking to an astronomy professor.In summary, if you want to read papers on astrophysics or cosmology, you'll need some background in the area and some terms to know. Nature and Science have papers which are written for an audience that doesn't have as much background, and the book Observational Cosmology by Stephen Sergeant is a good place to start.
dreamLord
I'm currently a 2nd year undergrad, looking to decide which physics field to make a career out of. I'm interested in Astrophysics & Cosmology - but I don't know much about what is currently going on in these areas of science.

I thought that the best way to get some idea would be to read some papers, but the ones I've come across always make me feel extremely dumb (which I am in comparison to the authors, but still). So my questions are ; how can I attempt to read these papers? Is there any place where summaries/reviews of these papers is posted? Where can I find them?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Well you need to have some background to read papers. What astrophysics classes have you taken?

If you want to start right away, I'd say start with papers in Nature. Here is a good one that was published earlier this year: http://arxiv.org/abs/1303.2723.

You might have to start by looking up some terms. For that paper, you'll need to know a bit about starburst galaxies, gravitational lensing, and redshift. That's doable for an undergrad.

I'd also recommend the textbook called Observational Cosmology by Stephen Sergeant. There is active research going on in many of the topics covered in the book, so that could be a good place to start as well before you read papers.