Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Where does one start with differential equations?

1. Oct 14, 2014 #1
    Hi,

So, I'm a programmer with a deep interest in simulations and mechanics and I'm currently trying to delve into a bit of fluid simulation.
    To set the scene, I'm completely new to this field and my searches so far have yielded such things as 'Stokes-Navier equations' which no doubt sound familiar to some of you, but flew straight over my head.
    Reading a bit and realising I had no idea what PDEs, or even DEs for that matter, were, I backtracked to the point where I got to MIT OCW Lec1 - Differential Equations.
    However, I'm still dumbstruck as to what differential equations are, what they do, and how to solve them.

I'd appreciate any advice on where I could start learning about these things to get a solid understanding.

Cheers,

Hamzah

(also, if you're worried about me being 'new to the scene', don't worry, I've had plenty of experience in basic Newtonian mechanics (ballistics, celestial sims etc.) so this shouldn't be a problem)

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 14, 2014 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to PF!

Since you're into simulations checkout the Open Source Physics site. They have a collection Java code that does sims with many examples.

A differential equation describes the rates of change of one or more variables with respect to other variables and their rates of change.

You can read a summary about on Wikipedia.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Differential_equation

The open source physics examples basically integrate some differential equation that describes the simulation rates of change and displays the results numerically or graphically or visually.

4. Oct 14, 2014 #3