Why do I keep failing this in particular? (Differential Equations)

In summary: Also, it might help to set goals for yourself - say, by the end of this semester, I want to be able to solve at least 5 problems from the homework set without resorting to the internet.In summary, the physics major is having difficulty with a differential equations course and does not know what to do to fix the problem. He has tried different study habits and has spoken to the professor, but does not know what else to do.
Steven Reichman
Hello everyone. I'm an undergrad physics major with one semester left and I'm having some trouble. I took off 3 years to work on my depression and came back last spring to finish my senior year. Now, before I left I was struggling in all my classes due to my depression, but one was worse: Differential Equations. I'm now on my 4th attempt on this course and it looks like I'm failing it again. I CAN'T fail again. Like if I do I will never be allowed to graduate. I've tried different study habits, professors, and this time it's even online through a different university. Now, you may say I'm just bad at it, and I know I'm not great, but I've done exceedingly well in classes that require its use like Quantum Mechanics (I got a B) and many others with A's or B's.

I seem to really just struggle with the tests. I understand the processes but I always feel like the test stumps me every time. It's like they put the only questions I can't figure out on the tests.

My question is, how can I pass this class? I just don't know what I'm doing wrong.
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Can you detect any pattern to your errors. For example, can you categorize them?

1. Mistakes involving the theory of differential equations per se
e.g. Failure to recognize the general technique required to solve an equation - variables separable vs exact vs variation of parameters vs integrating factor
e.g. Inability to translate a word problem to the appropriate differential equation