Will my minor affect grad school admission?

In summary, the person is wondering how much a minor in Space and Planetary Sciences will be considered in their grad school admissions, as they plan to pursue a focus in Astrophysics. It would not add to their duration of school, but would add extra classes to their course load and tuition. They are seeking input and have considered talking to their academic advisor. The weight of a minor in admissions may depend on specific details such as GPA, PGRE scores, research experience, and preferred grad schools. It may be beneficial if the minor includes relevant upper year courses and the individual has performed well in them.
cje312
Hello,

I am currently an undergrad aiming for a B.S in Physics and a minor in Space and Planetary Sciences. I have only had the chance to take one astronomy class towards my minor and I am wondering how much a minor is considered in grad school admissions?
My end game is to continue on through grad school with a focus in Astrophysics. Completing a minor would not add to my duration of school, but it would add quite a few extra classes to my course load while taking my 400 level Physics courses (not to mention add more to my tuition bill and it would be nice to save a little bit of money).

Thank you for your input, my apologies if this post is repetitive.

Physics news on Phys.org
There's a bigger picture than you can really share here: GPA, PGRE, research, location, recommendation letters, preferred grad schools, MS or PhD, etc.

Applying to a PhD program at a top 20 R1 Research University is a lot different from mid-tier MS programs.

In general a minor itself is not likely to carry much weight, but the devil is in the details.