Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Your most favorite Beethoven sonata?

1. Apr 26, 2006 #1
    If you have one?

edit: I meant to include a poll. Oops! In retrospect it would have been useless anyway.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 26, 2006 #2
    I'm relatively new to western classical. So at the moment I have to say "Emperor" since this is the only one I have heard, and that too only once. :biggrin: I may change my opinion in a few months!

EDIT: Here's proof for what I said in the first sentence...Emperor is a concerto. :blushing: :redface:

Last edited: Apr 26, 2006
  4. Apr 26, 2006 #3
    I don't have any of his Sonata's, although I am 100% sure I have heard them all. So I can't say.

EDIT: Ahh, I only have one on my computer. It's a guitar. Its quite nice.

Dan na na na na dun na na nan a dunnn na na na na dunn an de dun. Eh, you know what I mean. (It's not his 5th symphony that I am humming, though you might think it sounds like it)

Now I am listening to the Egmont Overture.

Last edited: Apr 27, 2006
  5. Apr 27, 2006 #4
    My favourite :

Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor Op. 57, 'Appassionata'

About this work : when Beethoven presented it to his "boss" he was so angry because the guy gave some comments Beethoven did not like. He answered : There will be kings and princes for ever, but there will only be ONE Beethoven.

The "Emperor" is not a sonata , it is a pianoconcerto.

marlon

6. Apr 27, 2006 #5

Mk

Oh, yes, that one is my favorite as well. Of course, Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor, "Moonlight Sonata" is a pretty good too. :biggrin:

7. Apr 27, 2006 #6
    since i'm not sure what you mean by sonata.... :wink:
    cello/piano sonata op.69 in A major
    piano sonata #3 in C major
    violin sonata #1 in D major or #9 in A major (aka "Kreutzer")

8. Apr 27, 2006 #7

fuzzyfelt

Gold Member