Struggling and procrastinating with my dissertation

In summary, your adviser should provide critical and constructive feedback, serve as a sounding board for ideas, and help you to learn how to write a dissertation by providing a thesis template and some well-done dissertations.
visitor369
Writing a dissertation is indeed a difficult task. As a PhD student, I was expecting my adviser to help but alas ... Should I go ahead and learn by example by reading published PhD dissertations ?
I need some advice from you guys who have some ideas or experience.

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
visitor369 said:
As a PhD student, I was expecting my adviser to help but alas ...
What exactly were you expecting in terms of help? Usually by the time you're ready to write up your thesis, you should be working independently enough that you can do all of the work yourself. At that stage, your supervisor moves into more of a peer-reviewer role. He or she should review the work before it goes out to your committee and provide critical and constructive feedback. He or she can also serve as a sounding board for ideas on organization, presentation, timelines and completeness.

Should I go ahead and learn by example by reading published PhD dissertations ?
Absolutely. Many schools have a thesis template. Look for one of these and a couple of dissertations that were well-done to get you started. You should discuss the process with your supervisor and make some decisions - such as whether or not you're going to write a paper-based thesis or start one from scratch.

Writing the dissertation usually implies reusing the results you have already published or tried to publish. In this respect, you have a solid basis for writing and your supervisor becomes, as Choppy stated, your peer-reviewer. However, the supervisor should say what is OK and what should be changed, his role is rather to help than to criticize.