Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

About solving differential equations

1. Jan 16, 2009 #1
    i'm in my second semester of qm and we've now solved the quantum harmonic oscillator, the spherical well, and the hydrogen atom and all these problems are solved by the frobenius method ( series ). so i'm left wondering if most of the differential equations physicists solve using this method, first separation of variables on the pde and then the frobenius method, power series ansatz, on the resulting odes? if not can someone post some other ones?

note i know that the harmonic oscillator can be solved using operator splitting so if anyone knows of some other problems which are solved like that please post those as well.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 18, 2009 #2

CompuChip

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper