Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Abstract algebra - direct sum and direct product

1. Sep 1, 2009 #1
    Hi everybody,
    I'm new to absract algebra and I really can not understand different between direct sum and direct product in group theory (specially abelian groups).
    could does any one give me a clear example or ... ?
    thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 2, 2009 #2
    I think that direct sum refers to modules over a ring. One takes a direct product of abelian groups to get another abelian group. But if you view an abelian group as a Z-module then the direct product is the direct sum of Z-modules.

4. Sep 2, 2009 #3
    thanks for reply,
    Do you mean direct product and direct sum are the same for Z-modules?
    but how do their definition are different for two matrices A and B as you know?

5. Sep 2, 2009 #4
    I think it is a direct product if you view the groups as groups, a direct sum if you view them as Z-modules. They are not really the same because they are being view as different types of objects.

I don't understand you matrix question. Can you explain it more?

6. Sep 2, 2009 #5
    My second question is not related to group theory, suppose we have two matrices A and B. The direct product of these two matrices is A * B ( which is tensor product ) but the direct sum is something else.
    how do these two objects can be same in Z-modules group?

7. Sep 2, 2009 #6
    Each of these (direct sum, direct product) is the solution of a certain universal mapping problem. In the case of abelian groups, the resulting groups are isomorphic, but not the resulting maps.

For the "direct sum": given two abelian groups [itex]A, B[/itex] you get the direct sum group [itex]A \times B[/itex] and two embeddings, [itex]i_1 \colon A \to A \times B[/itex] and [itex]i_2 \colon B \to A \times B[/itex].