Academic Future _ advising needed

In summary, depending on the summer research opportunities available, it seems like a decision about whether to pursue a masters in nuclear engineering or continuing on with physics might not be as easy as it seems.
deskswirl
I am an undergraduate Physics major in my 4th year (of 5.5). I recently changed to Physics from Engineering Physics (previous to that I was pre-vet) because frankly engineering classes are very boring for me. So basically I have had through a sophomore/junior level engineering education and a mixture of physics course (QM-absolute favorite class ever, Nuclear, Modern I and II). However recently found that I don't care that much for academia (i.e. I don't want to get a Phd in physics). So I have found myself at a quandary because at the bachelor level engineers are much more employable than physics majors.

My advisor didn't have any qualms about me joining as a physics major because he believes strongly that I will go to graduate school through the Phd level (top tier even). However I'm not so sure it is right for me. I have had the opportunity to do several research projects (mainly computer simulation work) in both engineering and physics and found them to interesting but not something I want to do forever. The idea of going to graduate school and developing an original project is quite daunting. I'm afraid I will run out of steam.

This summer I have the opportunity for several REUs/ research positions in mechanical engineering, physics simulation, and hopefully accelerator physics. I really enjoy physics and math but crave something a bit more active then sitting behind a computer console all day long. I suppose I could get a masters in nuclear engineering but I feel that returning to engineering from physics would be chasing my tail. The reason I chose physics as my major was partly because I enjoy the academic rigor however I realize I will not be in school forever.