1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice on returning to complete a grad. diploma

1. Dec 10, 2007 #1
    Hi,
    I'm still thinking about returning to complete a grad. diploma (I have a BSc in CS, with a EE minor). I've got a hankering to do higher math but apparently I need some 2nd yr refresher stuff. And the adv topology, groups and Lie algebras etc aren't available except at 4th yr.
    And I'm into anthropology and I guess ergodics, cooperative systems, entropy (in all its forms, esp. informational), and modeling. I have a 4th yr paper in parallel processing from the Dip already.
    Any suggests?

Last edited: Dec 10, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 10, 2007 #2
    Are you comfortable self studying the math needed to further you graduate studies? Can you take supplementary graduate classes as math refreshers while you continue the program?
    If you return to a CS grad program, then I'm sure you could take a few refresher math courses concurrently. If you want to delve into a math grad program then you may need to brush up in a summer session before you go back to school. What maths have you covered in your CS, EE degrees?

4. Dec 10, 2007 #3