Advice: Doing grad school abroad and getting a masters instead of PhD

In summary,The background of the person is that they graduated from a physics school in the US last year with a BS in physics. They did an internship and then their senior research project was binary classification of neutrino events. They are currently working in an engineering role at a photonics company, but are interested in going back to grad school. They are interested in pursuing a PhD, but are unsure if they want to do it in the US or abroad. They are concerned about whether a masters in physics from a foreign university is worth it and whether they would be able to get a job in physics after getting it. They are also concerned about whether a masters in physics is even worth it if they want to get a job
nsypgorz
My background: I live in the US and I graduated last June with my BS in physics. Went to an alright school and was an alright student (3.52 overall GPA, 3.49 major) with minors in math and CS. I did 2 internships, but my first one I basically did nothing, and my second was basically translating code from basic to python. My senior research project was creating an algorithm that used machine learning methods to make a binary classification on neutrino events which I think turned out pretty well. I am currently working in an engineering role at a photonics company, but am interested in going back to grad school. I want to go because I really enjoyed doing my senior research project so I may want to work in a research-related role. I also find physics very interesting, but admittedly I was not a good student for my first 2.5yrs of college and then covid happened which didn't help. After we returned to in person teaching I started to take things more seriously, and my grades in the classes I took during my last few quarters were generally higher than my earlier ones. However, I feel I started too late to take things seriously, so I missed out on some fundamental understandings of cor