Am I going in the wrong direction

• Thread starter shounakbhatta
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Direction
In summary, the speaker is a self-learner with a fascination for physics and has been studying on their own. They have encountered difficulties in understanding advanced concepts such as string theory and quantum field theories due to their lack of background in mathematics. They mention classical mechanics, relativity, and quantum physics as essential foundations for understanding physics, but they struggle with the level of detail in each subject. They are seeking guidance from others and have been recommended to read works by Lee Smolin, Nassim Taleb, and Karl Popper.
shounakbhatta
Hello All,

I am a self learner. Since my childhood days I was fascinated with physics, relativity, quantum physics. I started reading some popular science books and then found that without a background of mathematics it is all unrevealed romanticism. Let me tell you frankly, I am a commerce graduate and my profession is online business. I started learning on my own calculus, linear algebra, a bit of topology, complex number and formal logic.

As time passed away, Internet and other resources came. I started watching a lot of videos of MIT, Dr.Susskind and other things which are minimal mathematics and not into core mathematical procedure for explaining thoughts. I also learned GRAVITY by Hartle and still venturing into Maxwell's equation and Tensor analysis.

BUT STILL WHILE READING STRING THEORY AND QUANTUM FIELD THEORIES, ALL THOSE SIGNS LOOK GREEK TO ME.

Am I going in a wrong way? What else is required for a better understanding? I understand that there are 3 cornerstones of physics which needs to be mastered before going to the advanced level:

(1) Classical Mechanics
(2) Relativity (Sp./Gen.)
(3) Quantum physics
(4) QFT
(5) String theory

But if I take, say General relativity, it is so much detailed, that going deep and deeper, there is no time to look into other subjects.