1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Apprehensive about being a quantum physicist.

1. Jul 22, 2010 #1
    I am going into 8th grade this year, and I am a straight A student [though I hardly study], and I have a strong interest in physics. Many people say that my age gives me an advantage with the subject because I can learn more while going through school, and that I seem to be able to grasp this subject easily, but I am still very worried that there will be little Einsteins if I do go into this field [and I don't want to feel like I'm inferior to their intelligence].

Math, in truth, is not my best subject. I left the year with a 93, and I did find it disappointing [note that I was in 7/8 math]. As a young child I would do random calculations all the time [i.e., seeing how many less lines I would need to used if I used college ruled vs. wide spaced, or seeing how long it would take to walk versus driving using an equation], but now it seems that I struggle more with math. I don't know if it's that I just don't like math without some science to solve or if I truly do suck at it.

Though math may not be the most interesting subject for me, I find that I do love physics. I am fascinated by the world around me, and I recently stumbled across quantum physics and fell in love. So, I'm a bit apprehensive about it, particularly because of the math and the people who are generally interested in this subject. I want realistic answers not "oh, you'll do great" kind of things. Thanks.

**btw- since I don't really study all that much now, I'm wondering [and dreading] if I will have to up my study time a lot. Tell me if you had to, thanks**

Sorry for the long post.

Edit: Not that I really mind, but I'm a girl, not a guy. =D

Last edited: Jul 22, 2010
  2. jcsd