Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools Approaching professors at another university

1. Dec 29, 2009 #1
    I am an undergraduate student and I started looking for summer research opportunities. There are no opportunities at my own university and only a single REU (one of the most selective ones in the country, no hope of getting in) on the topic I am interested in. That's why I thought I might ask professors at a neighboring university about opportunities. Money is not an issue because I can get a grant from my own university.

But I am not sure how to approach professors at another university.

I audited a graduate class at said university this past semester. I cannot claim that I have a particularly close relationship with the professor, but I did talk to him a couple of times. Since this is the only professor I know, I was going to talk to him about opportunities at his university. His area of interest is the general area I am looking for, but I am not interested in the twist of his work. (Well, it's actually not that I am not interested. I am just so weak in the prerequisites for his approach that I doubt I could be productive or even just work semi-independently without someone holding my hand 24/7.)

I am not sure about the best way to approach this conversation. Can I ask him for suggestions for other professors I might talk to, or would it be offensive if I did not ask him about a position first? Would it be more polite if I asked him first, and then asked about other professors only in case he declines? Or should I bypass him completely and talk to other professors directly?

I do not want to offend him and close doors unnecessarily. On the other hand, I feel awkward just e-mailing professors at another university out of the blue.