Are Numerical methods of any use for a physicist

In summary, the numerical methods offered in this elective are useful for a physicist. They can be used for solving problems in physics, and knowing about the algorithms is important.
kini.Amith
I am currently doing my bachelors in Mechanical engineering engineering and planning to pursue physics after completion. I have to choose an elective the coming semester. One of the electives offered is 'Numerical Methods for Engineers' and the modules covered include Error in numerical calculations, Solution of system of linear algebraic equations, Numerical differentiation and Boundary value problems.
Is this subject useful for a theoretical physicist? Can you mention any applications of numerical methods you have seen in your career as a physicist?

Physics news on Phys.org
Unless you are a brainiac who can solve complicated equations in your head, you will need to know numerical methods, especially if your work involves the use of computers.

It would be better to ask "are analytical methods useful for a physicist?".
There are VERY few interesting problems that can be solved analytically; just about evertything is solved numerically if you are working on "real-world" problems (which even most theorists do).

Very useful. As a engineer/physicist the differential equations portion will probably of most use to you. As an example of what I have personally,seen (i am only an undergrad), I know a physicist who is working on solving the diffusion equation in cylindrical coordinates with an application to neurons and how they communicate. (I probably butchered this description but that is what I got out of his explanation).

Yes. Take the class.

But if you want to help your chances of acceptance into a good program then it helps to have at least one semester of quantum mechanics, electricity and magnetism, and statistical mechanics.

f95toli said:
It would be better to ask "are analytical methods useful for a physicist?".