Exploring the Big Bang Theory: A Fresh Perspective from a New Physics Student

• Thread starter lincs_b
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Big bang
In summary, the conversation discusses the big bang theory and alternative theories such as plasma cosmology. Some participants believe in the big bang while others question its validity and propose alternative explanations. The lack of evidence for WIMPs and the dominance of dark matter and energy in the universe are also discussed. However, most agree that the evidence overwhelmingly supports the big bang theory and there is little research or evidence to support plasma cosmology.
lincs_b
Big bang?

I'm quite new to Physics as I have just completed my first year towards a Bsc Physical sciences, so I was looking for some more educated views.

I watched a programme quite a while ago on plasma cosmology, I had never even heard of this before although I was aware that not all agreed with the big bang theory. Some of the theory on the programme seemed quite flakey but then I'm not really one who should pass judgement.

So basically I was wondering what other peoples views were. Should everyone accept the big bang theory and keep looking for wimps etc or try to take a different look at the problems?

Space news on Phys.org

Why is not WIMP's compatible with the standard model of Big Bang??

I personally believe the 'Big Bang' was more of a little 'poof' of matter that came into existence. I also believe that in the first few billionths of a second of this our universe, it was in a liquid state because of the high pressure and heat that resulted from compacting all of our universe's matter into that tiny space, billionths of a second after this 'poof'.

What do you think?

Modern cosmologists are not unwilling to entertain alternatives to the 'Big Bang'. The problem is, they do not exist. Observational evidence overwhelming supports the BB theory to date.