Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

C or FORTRAN compiler for Vista?

1. Sep 3, 2008 #1
    Can anyone help me find a compiler/IDE for FORTRAN or C that can work with Windows Vista? I am a physics student and would like to learn some programing, but my computer runs Vista and I have yet to find a compiler that works.

Otherwise, are there any recommendations for a language I could learn that might be useful to me and that I won't run into such problems with on Vista?

(Please, please resist the impulse to tell me to can Vista and get XP... really...)

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 3, 2008 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

No problem... just can Vista and get Linux instead. :biggrin: Or Mac OS X. :biggrin: :biggrin:

4. Sep 4, 2008 #3

Borek

You know the solution and you are still asking question? Geez...

That being said, look for Visual Studio and Visual C++. No idea about exact licences available at the moment, but there were free academic or entry level versions available few years ago and the current version (whichever it is) has a three month free trial.

5. Sep 4, 2008 #4

chroot

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Or download Cygwin, which runs fine on Vista, and use the freeware GNU compiler collection, which includes C/C++ and FORTRAN.

- Warren

6. Sep 4, 2008 #5
    Yes yes yes, I know I know... if I could keep one of you guru's in my back pocket to help with such things (or maybe talk me out of buying a computer loaded with Vista in the first place), or maybe had more time and money to deal with it myself, I'd be in a different spot. In the meantime I have to use what I've got.

That being said, I have tried Visual Studio/Visual C++ with no luck (trying to compile in C, that is). I've also tried EclipseC and Bloodshed. I will try Cygwin next.

Thanks all.

7. Sep 4, 2008 #6