Calculating Sand Volume for a Cylindrical Containment Vessel

In summary, a spherical pressure vessel with a diameter of 10 m is enclosed in a cylindrical containment vessel with additional protective material, such as sand, added to provide support. To fill the remaining space in the cylinder, one would need to subtract the volume of the cylinder from the volume of the sphere.
nathan12345
A spherical pressure vessel with a diamter of 10 m is tightly enclosed in a cylindrical containment vessel with the sphere just touching on all 4 sides . Additional protective material (assume is sand ) is added to the cyclinder to provide additional support .How much sand is required so that all the space in the cylinder is filled ?
I am beginning a new course , and I am pretty new to the topic , but in my head I would calculate the volume of the sphere , and then the cylinder , and subtract the volume of the cylinder from the volume of the sphere ? .

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Right... but it's the other way around: subtract the volume of the cylinder from the volume of the sphere...

subtract the volume of the sphere from the volume of the cylinder

BA9B4A01-2E3A-40AB-A27A-1E9683FCC772.png

1. What is the difference between area and volume?

Area refers to the measurement of the surface of a two-dimensional shape, while volume refers to the measurement of the space occupied by a three-dimensional object.

2. How do you calculate the area of a shape?

The formula for calculating the area of a shape depends on the type of shape. For example, the area of a square is calculated by multiplying the length of one side by itself. The area of a circle is calculated by multiplying pi (3.14) by the radius squared.

3. What is the formula for finding the volume of a solid?