1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculating the probability of a certain measurement

1. Mar 12, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    This really is not a homework problem but I am studying for the qualifying exam upcoming. I came across an objective that I am not familiar with. I'm given a wave function made of a linear combination of spherical harmonics with complex coefficients. I'm asked to calculate the possible values of measurement for [itex]L^{2}[/itex] and [itex]L_{z}[/itex] which is of course straight forward. What I am unsure of though is it asks me to calculate the probability of obtaining those values. Perhaps I missed this in my undergraduate coursework somehow, but I'll list the wavefunction.

2. Relevant equations
    [itex]\psi=A[(1+2i)Y_{3}^{-3}+(2-i)Y_{3}^{2}+\sqrt{10}Y_{2}^{2}][/itex]

3. The attempt at a solution

I've already calculated the normalization constant A, and found it via integration and the orthogonality condition to be

[itex]A=\frac{1}{4}\sqrt{\frac{7}{6\pi}}[/itex]

I know the values of angular momentum [itex]L^{2}[/itex] are [itex]12\hbar^{2}[/itex] corresponding to [itex]\left|3,-3\right\rangle[/itex], and [itex]\left|3,2\right\rangle[/itex]. Also, [itex]6\hbar^{2}[/itex] corresponding to [itex]\left|2,2\right\rangle[/itex]. I am utterly lost on how to calculate this probability. I have tried this:

[itex]|\left\langle 3, m\right|A[(1+2i)\left|3,-3\right\rangle+(2-i)\left|3, 2\right\rangle+\sqrt{10}\left|2,2\right\rangle]|^{2}[/itex] for m = -3, 2

&

[itex]|\left\langle 2, 2\right|A[(1+2i)\left|3,-3\right\rangle+(2-i)\left|3, 2\right\rangle+\sqrt{10}\left|2,2\right\rangle]|^{2}[/itex]