Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can i create a star from Jupiter?

1. Dec 30, 2014 #1
    I am rather a beginner to this field .So please forgive me if this is a very meaningless question.
    QUESTION:
    If I were to somehow increase Jupiter's mass by adding more hydrogen to its atmosphere, can i ever reach the stage where the mass of the planet becomes enough to undergo gravitational contraction thereby producing sufficient heat and turning it into a star ? Please Explain in detail

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 30, 2014 #2
    I'm new to the topic too, so I'm just throwing in my 2 cents.