1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can I go from Chemistry/Math B.S. to Physics M.A./M.S.?

1. Apr 13, 2012 #1
    Can I go from Chemistry/Math B.S. to Physics M.A./M.S.???????

Hey all, first post here... Just thought I'd see if you guys know the answer.

I'm a sophomore at a super small liberal arts college, so small in fact that we don't even have a physics major (I went here cause of financial reasons and got a full ride for track and field and the honors program).

However, I am majoring in math and chemistry. I've had 2 summers of research experience in physical chemistry/biophysics and optics/imaging related projects (at Princeton University and a research institute in the Czech Republic - both of these experiences influenced my passion for physics, as well as auditing a physical chemistry class) and I'm currently starting a physical chemistry project for my senior thesis. I will expect to have a summer or two of more research in physical related fields as well.

I've taken calc based physics at my school, and I have to resort to a nearby university to take modern physics, classical mechanics, optics, and possibly QM. My math background is alright so far - Calc I-III, linear algebra, and vector analysis. I'll have ODE, PDE, complex variables, abstract algebra, probability theory, and more by the time I graduate with my math degree. I also have a 4.0 right now and I plan on graduating with a 4.0 if I stay where I am.