1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools Canadian applying to American university, how?

1. May 2, 2010 #1
    I'm a Canadian based student, doing an extra year in high school (starting next year) and I want to apply to: Harvard, Caltech, MIT, and Stanford. What must I complete? Is it just SAT's or what? Has anyone on here had any experience with this?

2. jcsd
  3. May 2, 2010 #2
    Yes, without SATs, you can't apply to the States...

You need excellent grades for prerequisite.

Excellent SAT scores for prerequisites. If you have no idea what to do to "impress" them, do the IB, it basically covers everything you need for those schools, but I advise you to do more to stand out because think about it, everyone who is applying there has good grades.

4. May 3, 2010 #3

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2017 Award

I also think you need to have a good explanation of why you are taking an extra year of high school - especially why you are not taking advantage of the opportunities of college now.

5. May 3, 2010 #4
    changed my direction last second from computer engineering (had all the courses and whatnot already for it) to physics

so it's just SAT's?

edit: holy! I definitely don't think I'll have a 99.5% average. I can score high 80's/low 90's which is apparently pretty much a 4.0 GPA so ...
    http://talk.collegeconfidential.com...99998-canadian-students-applying-harvard.html

edit 2: for anybody even thinking about applying, make sure:

i speak 3 languages total, but I didn't take any courses and I didn't take bio, inadmissable :(

Last edited: May 3, 2010
  6. May 3, 2010 #5