Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Collapse of the wave-function of a single photon in the general sense

1. Jun 18, 2011 #1
    non-locality and the collapse of the wave-function of a single photon

I'm a bit of a layman on english and on physics, so here it is.

My questions are about the collapse of the wave-function of a single photon in the general sense. I will mention where I mean to pose a question.

If we may consider a single photon-particle as a wave with corresponding wave-function... (may we? question 1)

...and if we consider the physical manifestation of the likely position of this particle in time as determined by this function as, ideally, a 'growing' sphere in diameter.. (may we? question 2)

...then may we consider the 'detection' of the particle as a collapse of the corresponding wave-function... (may we? question 3)

...thus prohibiting 'detection' of this particle on every place on the, now collapsing, sphere? (question 4)

Is this prohibition a so called 'non-local' effect? (question 5)

Is it possible to so 'instantly' transfer information of the 'detection' all over the sphere? (question 6)

I assumed that the meaning of 'detection', 'non-local' and 'instantly' were clear.
    Questions 5 and 6 are the ones I'm really interrested in.

Thanks very much in advance! You will probably laugh about this one.
    I really know nothing about this, but it troubles me...can't sleep.

Last edited: Jun 18, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 19, 2011 #2

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Re: non-locality and the collapse of the wave-function of a single photon