College opportunities with Bad GPA

• Schools
  • Thread starter mojo0529
  • Start date
  • Tags
    College Gpa
In summary: What is your class rank? What is your percentile? What is the name of the honor society associated with your degree, if any?There is no honor society attached to a 70/100. It is simply a 70/100. In summary, the speaker is an international student from Taiwan with a Bachelor's degree in Atmospheric Science. They are currently pursuing a Master's degree in physics in Taiwan. However, their undergraduate GPA is 2.8 and they are concerned about their chances of being accepted into a Ph.D program in solid state physics in America, specifically within the top 50 schools. They were born in America and have a strong interest in physics research. It is mentioned that their chances of being accepted may depend on
mojo0529
I am an international student(Taiwan).I have Bachelor degree in Atmospheric Science.And now I am studying for a master degree in physics in Taiwan.(superconductor in experimental solid state physics field)

But my undergraduate gpa is 2.8. :(

Do I still have any opportunities of attending Ph.D program in solid state physics in America?(Rank among the Top50 in America)

P.S. I was born in America,so I really wish that I can come back and get the Ph.D degree,and I really like physics research.

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
My guess is that it would largely depend on the results of from your master's program. In general, a 2.8 is not very competative, but if you pull it up in your current program and perhaps earn a good publication or two, you might become more competative.