1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Complete change of major/career path?

1. Jul 26, 2011 #1
    Ok so here is my problem. I recently graduated from UCSB doing mathematical finance (not too great gpa 3.2). The thing is, during my second year or so I got really interested in physics and disillusioned with my major. I didn't do anything about it because I thought I was too late into my major to switch (big mistake). Well now I have a degree but I want to go back and do physics (I also found out that UCSB is a top ten school in physics which makes me even more mad that I didn't switch when I should've). I only took one physics course during college and got an easy A, but it was an intro class.

So my question is, how can I get into a master's program? Should I take a bunch of physics classes at a community college or something and then apply? And is there some way of getting an extremely accelerated bachelors in physics since I've done all my GE's? I basically feel like I've wasted 4 years of my life studying something I don't want to do anymore... help would be appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 27, 2011 #2
    First off, don't feel too bad that you didn't switch majors at UCSB solely because of the top ten ranking. These rankings are pretty arbitrary. Just saying.