Computer or electrical engineering-electroptics

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's interest in pursuing engineering in college, specifically in the fields of electrical and computer engineering. They are unsure of which field would be better for their interests in programming, electronics, and optics. The advice given is to pursue a degree in Electrical Engineering, as it covers all of the mentioned interests and has more overlap with optics compared to Computer Engineering.
garet122
Hello,

I am a newbie on this forum (I registered yesturday).

Right now I am in high school and doing very well in Math and Science. Soon, I will have to go to college in engineering. Electrical and computer engineering are the most interesting branches in engineering. But I do not know which one of those 2 is the best for what I would like to do. I like programming, electronic and optics. Which of those 2 fields are more dealing with electroptics.

thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
The Electronic Engineering degree that I am following allows me to work with both Programming and the hardware stuff. However, the programming is not "high-level" programming where you build big software programs. It is mostly systems-programming and low-level programming (like device drivers).
I do not know about computer science, but I think that you will not be working very much with electronics. You will be working with more of the abstract areas of programming.

If I had to tell you what to do, I would say Electronic Engineering. It will give you a possibility to work with all of it. And once you have worked with C/C++ for three years in school, it's "easy" to extend your knowledge to other languages or higher-level topics than what is taught.

garet122 said:
Hello,

I am a newbie on this forum (I registered yesturday).