1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Concept of Elastic/Inelastic Collision ?

1. Nov 12, 2012 #1
    Hi, you guys! :)

I am studying Elastic/Inelastic Collision my Physics class right now.

So I know:
    Elastic Collision: P(initial) = P(final) ; KE(initial) = KE(final)

Inelastic Collison: P(initial) = P(final) ; KE(initial) ≠ KE(final)

I'm wondering how I am supposed to know right when I see a type of problem, whether elastic or inelastic collision is taking place?

There was a pool ball example problem that I was working, and it required that you know it is elastic collion (and therefore, KE(i) and KE(f) are equal) taking place.
    ....In that particular problem, the collision was not head-on, so the two balls moved in different directions after the collision.

But Newton's Cradle is an example of elastic collision also, right? If one ball hits the other balls, the middle ones stay stationary, but the end ball swings out and continues that pattern.

So if the pool balls don't have a head-on collision, resulting in the striking ball to become stationary, and to transfer all of it's kinetic energy to the other ball, how could an elastic collision be taking place???

Please help me to understand this better! Thank you so much!

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 12, 2012 #2
    In inelastic collisions, momentum is conserved but kinetic energy is not.
    In elastic collisions, momentum and kinetic energy are conserved.

Therefore Newton's Cradle is an example of an elastic collision because, as you said, all kinetic energy is being transferred from one ball to the other.

--