? connection between uncertainty and wave-particle duality

In summary, recent articles have explored the proof of the theory that merges the "duality" of uncertainty and wave-particle nature. The connection between these concepts becomes clearer when considering them as questions about gaining information about a system. A physics student asked for a more detailed explanation of this idea, and references were provided to a 2014 world science festival and a Huffington Post article discussing the lack of unification and competing ideas in quantum physics.
Steve H
After reading these recent articles on proof of the theory that merges the "duality" of .. " The connection between uncertainty and wave-particle duality comes out very naturally when you consider them as questions about what information you can gain about a system"

Can someone point me to a more detailed explanation of this idea? I'm very interested to understand the merge? I'm a first year physics student so a little simpler the better for me.

I had recently watched the 2014 world science festival highlight the topic, specifically the lack of unification and the debate of competing ideas.

Many Thanks.

http://www.quantumlah.org/highlight/141220_wave_particle.php

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/...-understand_n_6370570.html?utm_hp_ref=science

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org

1. What is uncertainty in the context of wave-particle duality?

Uncertainty refers to the inherent unpredictability in the behavior of particles at the quantum level. This means that it is impossible to simultaneously know the precise position and momentum of a particle with absolute certainty.

2. How does wave-particle duality contribute to uncertainty?

Wave-particle duality is the concept that particles can exhibit both wave-like and particle-like behavior. This duality contributes to uncertainty because the wave-like behavior of particles means that their exact position and momentum cannot be known at the same time.