Conservation of momentum (wrecking ball hits a stationary object)

In summary, the conversation discusses a situation involving a wrecking ball with a mass of .5kg and a velocity of 3.03 m/s colliding with a stationary block with a height of .9 meters and a mass of .06kg. The calculated exit velocity of the ball after the collision is -3.00 m/s, which suggests that the ball bounces back with almost the same speed it had before the collision. However, there is confusion surrounding the conservation of momentum in this scenario due to the involvement of gravity.
SMOKEYWC
Homework Statement
I am struggling with a conservation of momentum problem, that I can't get right. If anyone can help, I would greatly appreciate it. Please note I am a 52-year-old student who is not very good at math.
Relevant Equations
m1v1i + m2v2i = m1v1f + m2v2f
I have a wrecking ball with a mass of .5kg traveling at 3.03 m/s that hits a stationary block .9 meters high, weighing .06kg. I calculated the ball's exit velocity after it hits the block to be -3.00 m/s .

I calculated the final velocity of th block to be 4.2 m/s
Vf = Sqrt 2(g)(h) = sqrt 2(9.8)(.9) = sqrt 17.64 = 4.2

Looking at conservation of momentum where m1v1i + m2v2i = m1v1f + m2v2f

(.5)(3.03) + (.06)(.0) = (.5)(3.0) + (.06)(4.2)

1.51 = 1.5 + .252 (1.77)

the equation is not balanced, so I don't conservation of momentum. What am I doing wrong?
Again any help would be greatly appreciated.4

Thank you
Michael

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF! It's not clear what you are doing. Can you draw a sketch of the situation? Is this a 1D problem, a 2D problem, is gravity involved?

Likes topsquark
Hi Bob

Thank you for replying so quickly.. Here is a picture (below) of what I am talking about I am trying to calculate the amount of energy converted from one form to another.

The mass of the ball swinging down is .5kg, its velocity is 3.03 m/s . The mass of the block the ball is colliding with is .06kg with a height of .90 m.