1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Considering getting my Masters in Math after Undergrad

1. Feb 24, 2014 #1
    Hello,

Right now, I am a Freshman who is double majoring in Mathematics and Engineering. I am considering getting my Masters in Math, and was wondering if they look at the difficulty of courses you took in Undergrad?

Right now, I am taking Physics 1 and a lab (which is worth 5 credits). I have to take another semester of Physics, and I have the option of taking it with or without the lab, so it would be either 4 or 5 credits.

Would it look better if I took the 5 credit Physics, or does it not matter if I took the 4 credit Physics?

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 24, 2014 #2
    In my opinion, the experience you will gain from the lab will be more valuable than how many credits it offers or how that looks to grad schools or employers. I don't foresee you getting or not getting the job over something that most people wont even notice. If you were just majoring in math I don't think it would matter but since you are going into engineering take the physics with a lab, the experience will be worth it in my opinion.

4. Feb 24, 2014 #3
    get you masters in something you can get a job in. Unless you truly love math, then get it in math. You have plenty of time to figure it out.

5. Feb 24, 2014 #4
    If you want a job stick with engineering and get a masters in that. However, as they said if you LOVE math, then do well (A's) in your math courses, get a year or more of research experience with a math professor, ace the Math GRE, and then apply to graduate school for a PHD in Math at a good university. Don't do a master's in math unless it's fully funded (unlikely)

6. Feb 26, 2014 #5
    Amen.