Converting/Creating Coordinate Systems for Other Planets?

In summary, the individual is trying to develop coordinate systems for other planets to visualize the sky and its stars from a given location. They have been reading various resources but still have some confusion. The suggested method is to use vector calculus to find axis directions for the planet and its orbit, and then convert from ecliptic to equatorial coordinates. This will allow for the conversion of an object's position from Earth equatorial coordinates to the planet's analog of right ascension and declination.
Raymond_
Hi, this may be a very basic concept, but I'm trying to develop coordinate systems for other planets from their right ascension and declination and prime meridians so that, given a location on that planet, you could visualize the sky and its stars.. I've been reading http://astropedia.astrogeology.usgs.gov/download/Docs/WGCCRE/WGCCRE2009reprint.pdf and some wiki pages, but I'm pretty new to astronomy and am pretty confused :( . I know stellarium has the functionality to do this, and if anyone could explain how they do it or give me some further reading/clear explanations, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks for any help!

Last edited:
Astronomy news on Phys.org
I'm not quite sure what you're wanting to do. Are you wanting to view the sky as it is seen by an observer on another planet?

Yup, that's exactly what I'm trying do (sorry for wording it unclearly), but as I understand it, you have to create a coordinate system for every planet, right?

Hmmm. I'm not sure. Sorry I can't be of much help.

That's okay, thanks anyways :/ let me know if you know of any helpful links that could potentially help me muddle through this. Thanks!

It seems like you want to create another planet's analog of the Earth's right ascension and declination.