Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Could "reverse entropy stars" exist in our universe?

1. Apr 19, 2016 #1
    My lecturer claimed that "reverse entropy stars" could exist in our universe.

One of the examples he gave was that if you exposed some sort of detector in the direction of a hypothesized reverse entropy star, you could determine if it existed by whether it "sucked" photons out of the detector.

Is it just me or is this all BS?

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 20, 2016 #2
    My guess. BS.

4. Apr 20, 2016 #3

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

I'm no expert, but this sounds like the latter option to me. The first 5 pages of a google search for "reverse entropy star" bring up no results relating to astronomy except for this exact thread. Besides, something "sucking" photons out of a detector is nonsense. Photons cannot be "sucked" out of something. They will be emitted from an object through several different mechanisms, none of which can be influenced by a far away star of any type.

However, it's possible I'm wrong. Perhaps others here will know more about this.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2016
  5. Apr 20, 2016 #4

Ken G

Gold Member