Curious inquiry about exotic matter

In summary, The conversation is about the existence of exotic matter and its possible role in the expansion of the universe. Four arguments for its existence are mentioned, including the similarity between exotic matter and the electromagnetic field, the creation of negative-energy densities by quantum effects, the speculation that cosmic exotic matter may be causing the acceleration of the universe, and the weakening of previously held energy conditions. The question is raised about the relationship between exotic matter, dark matter, and dark energy, and it is clarified that they are all distinct concepts. It is also mentioned that dark energy, not dark matter, is responsible for the acceleration of expansion through negative pressure.
sozme
Forgive me for being a lay person, I am a medical student and the only physics I've ever had was non-calculus based 200-level. Anyway, I was reading the "wormhole" faqs page from Dr. Rodrigo's webpage via UCal-Irvine: http://www.webfilesuci.org/WormholeFAQ.html

How realistic is it to suppose that exotic matter exists?

Its existence isn’t as far fetched as you might at first think. Four arguments for its likely existence are: 1) The ordinary electromagnetic field is infinitesimally close to being exotic. 2) Quantum effects are known to create negative-energy densities. 3) Something is causing the expansion of the universe to accelerate. Cosmologists have recently speculated that it might be cosmic exotic matter (which they call “phantom energy” or “superquintessence”). 4) Formerly sacrosanct energy conditions have been dying off for the last few decades. Why not a couple more?

I was wondering what your comments might be, in particular about #3. For one, is the theorized dark matter really "exotic" and why must this be so?

Physics news on Phys.org
sozme said: