1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Degree to pursue if interested in imaging

1. Jul 10, 2016 #1
    I'm a senior physics major, and I'm starting to look at graduate programs, and I'm very much interested in imaging as this is what I've been doing for the last 2 years. I'm really interested in medical imaging, but my concern is saturation in the field of medical physics. Would pursuing a graduate degree in something like EE or physics optics be better as far as career opportunities go?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 11, 2016 #2
    I did EE in undergraduate and read quite a bit of image processing papers with some having medical applications.

EE is nice because you can take the DSP classes that will build up a foundation to take advanced image processing classes.

You could go at it from the EE/Computer science side if you're interested in algorithms and implementation of those algorithms (edge mapping, segmentation).

I would only do physics optics if you're interested in making the physical image sensors or lenses.

4. Jul 11, 2016 #3

Dr Transport

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

5. Jul 11, 2016 #4

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

You might want to look at medical physics graduate programs that have strong diagnostic imaging or MRI programs. Career opportunities is clinical medical physics are still generally better than those in pure academia.

6. Jul 11, 2016 #5
    How difficult would it be to find a job in medical imaging though? I believe that medical physics is easier to get into than academia, but how much better?

7. Jul 12, 2016 #6

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor