1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Determine the car's displacement

1. Oct 7, 2007 #1
    Hi, I am new to the fourm. If it is not any touble, please help me with a kinematic problem.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

A car travels east along a straight road at a constant velocity of 18 m/s. After 5.0s, it accelerates uniformly for 4.0s, reaching a velocity of 24 m/s. For the next 6.0s, the car proceeds with uniform motion. Determine the car's displacement for the 15.0s trip.

2. Relevant equations

Δd = v1 x Δt + 1/2 x acceleration x Δt(squared)
    Δd = v2 x Δt - 1/2 x acceleration x Δt(squared)
    Δd = 1/2 (v1 + v2) Δt
    2aΔd = v2^2 - v1^2
    a = v2 - v2 / Δt

3. The attempt at a solution

This is the only question I have not experienced before. Please guide me through this question.

Last edited: Oct 7, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 7, 2007 #2

Kurdt

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

You will have to split the problem into 3 parts. There are two where the car is travelling with a constant velocity and one where it is accelerating. The equation you have stated is almost correct. For constant velocity you will need:

[tex] d = vt [/tex]

For constant acceleration you will need one of the constant acceleration kinematic equations.

https://www.physicsforums.com/showpost.php?p=905663&postcount=2

4. Oct 7, 2007 #3
    so do i do:

18 m/s x 5.0s then 24 x 4.0s then add them up?

What do i do with the 6.0s and the uniform motion? When adding do i find the displacement?

5. Oct 7, 2007 #4

Kurdt

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member