Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Do science profs hate med school wannabes?

1. Aug 15, 2006 #1
    so i am trying to apply to medical for this up and coming cycle and I need to ask for some letters of recommendations from professors. i know some of you on here are science professors, and I was wondering what your opinions are of "premed" students. i had a math professor and chemistry professor who really took me under their wings and tried to get me to go to grad school for a phd, but i kind of shrugged it off and said "maybe". i know they will be upset if a ask for a LOR for medschool, and i kind of feel like an ass for asking for one. i never even told my profs that i wanted to go to medschool until after i graduated so that they wouldn't have any biases towards me. lol i remember my Pchem professor taking delight in the fact that so many premed chem students bombed on his exams. so do science profs. really hate students that want to persue medicine for a career? do they feel that professional schools suck away the best students from persuing academic/research science as a career?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 15, 2006 #2

JasonRox

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

If you're a good student, I sure as hell rather have you as a doctor then the other bombers.

I'd say they might be happy. We need good doctors.

4. Aug 15, 2006 #3

Moonbear

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member