Do you think this is true for Engineers vs Phyiscists?

• Thread starter flyingpig
  • Start date
In summary: I believe that, as an engineer, I can make a real difference in the world. Second, I am tired of feeling like an imposter in my previous field of study. I was a math major and I hated it. I was always feeling like I was a fraud. I hated that I couldn't explain things to people in a way that made sense to them. I didn't want to be a physicist, I wanted to be an engineer. I think, if I can get a masters degree in engineering, that will really cement that I am an engineer.
flyingpig
People study Physics and go into Engineering are only for the money; Physicists on the other hand, studies to improve themselves, they could careless about money.

This is a quote from my teacher

But here is a thought from my own,

If suddenly the wages between an Engineer and a Physicist change, would you still change?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I went into engineering pretty much knowing I never wanted to do it professionally (still don't). I just wanted a major I couldn't sleep through, and computer engineering seemed the most interesting at the time.
Almost every major has that person just in it for the money, but most people do end up in fields they care about just 'cause the sheer amount of coursework is almost impossible to get through if you're not really interested in it.

Physicists who end up in Engineering are more interested in applied dynamics rather than money. As a side note, I believe physics professors are paid slightly more than engineering professors, so what does that tell you about the importance of engineering?:rolleyes:

Anti-Meson said:
Physicists who end up in Engineering are more interested in applied dynamics rather than money. As a side note, I believe physics professors are paid slightly more than engineering professors, so what does that tell you about the importance of engineering?:rolleyes: