1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Economics with Physics or MechEng

1. Jul 19, 2014 #1
    Hey,

I'm a first year Economics student. I've just finished my first semester. I started Economics with the intention of understand how people make decisions and for what reasons. I would however like to start up another degree to get a deeper understanding of the world. I'm leaning toward starting my second degree in physics which is extremely exciting but I know I would one day have to pay my HECS off. So I'm torn as to which degree would be better. Do I go with what would interest me most (Physics) or go for MechEng which is a little less physics oriented but teaches me more applicable real world skills (Programming, Designing, etc)?

I know that if anything goes wrong I'll have a good chance of landing some finance gig if I do either econ and physics or econ and mecheng but I just wanted to get some advice from people who have a little more life experience.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 19, 2014 #2

Astronuc

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I believe the appropriate motivation to study a subject is to pursue a meaningful livelihood as well as to contribute to field.

If one studies a subject simply to 'understand' the world, then one better have another means with which to subsist.

Either Physics or Mechanical Engineering (or any engineering discipline) can be a means to a productive livelihood. Physics and even Mechanical Engineering are broad disciplines, and one can specialize in many areas.

Engineering is effectively applied physics, and ideally, an engineer should have a reasonably good grounding in physics, which is why many science and engineering programs start with similar or same basic math and science (intro physics) courses.