Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Eigenvalues / Eigenvectors relationship to Matrix Entries Values

1. Jun 10, 2014 #1
    Hi, folks

I have had a hard time to find out whether or not there is a theorem in Linear Algebra or Spectral Theory that makes any strong statement about the relationship between the entries of a Matrix and its Eigenvalues and Eigenvectors.

Indeed, I would like to know how is the dependence between a matrix entries and its eigenvalues / eigenvectors. It could be something describing:
    - what are the properties of the eigenvalues and eigenvectors of a matrix whose entries are less than 1 and greater than 0.
    - what are the properties of the eigenvalues and eigenvectors of a matrix whose entries modulus are less than 1
    - what are the properties of the eigenvalues and eigenvectors of a matrix whose entries goes to infinity

I'm studying spectral decomposition of matrices and would like to predict what will happen with the eigenvectors, given a diferent set of values for the Matrix entries.

I would appreciate any valuable reference with hints on that.

Regards,

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 10, 2014 #2

AlephZero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

4. Jun 10, 2014 #3
    Thanks, AlephZero.
    I've just had a quick glimpse over it and suspect it looks like being far more than I expect, indeed. However, among the links for similar theorems at the bottom of that page, there is the Perron–Frobenius theorem, which appears to be a good clue towards the right track.

I'm gonna look into these theorems and return, in case they don't suit my needs.

Regards.

5. Jun 10, 2014 #4

hilbert2

Science Advisor
    Gold Member