Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Equations that arise when General Relativity and Quantum Mechanics are merged.

1. Mar 12, 2012 #1
    I am a first year undergraduate who in my spare time is desperately trying to understand what happens when General Relativity and Quantum Mechanics are 'merged'.

Almost all of the searches I have done on the subject have turned up with
    the same similar statements:

'General Relativity and Quantum Mechanics don't work together'
    'The solutions to simple questions give nonsensical answers with infinities'

etc. etc. Just very simple statements aimed at the general public.

Yet for the rest of the searches, I run into relativity complicated journals
    aimed at postgraduates such as this:

(http://iopscience.iop.org/0264-9381/19/13/312/pdf/0264-9381_19_13_312.pdf
    free version: http://wenku.baidu.com/view/e0c576d86f1aff00bed51edf.html)

Which don't really help me at all.

I can't seem to find any journals or textbooks that give an example of these two theories being combined, and that shows the equations that lead to the infinity answers; a middle ground so to speak, between the general public and postgradutes.

Here is an example of what I'm trying to find:

Michio Kaku goes through the equations from 3:30 to 7:30 in that short
    clip, unfortunately all the 'good stuff' is just left out.

Does anyone know where I could look to find a detailed run through of the
    equations he is going through in those clips?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 12, 2012 #2