1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Etiquette, Process of Doing Collaborative Work?

1. Oct 16, 2014 #1

WWGD

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi All,
    I am glad that a professor outside my school asked me if I would work with her. I had asked her a question
    about some problems I was working with , and she said she was interested in the same area, and she would like to write a paper with me. I said yes, of course, I would love to. She works in Boston, which is close-enough for me, so I asked her if we could meet in person at her school .
    But I have never done anything of this sort before. Can anyone suggest the etiquette, dynamics of these student-professor arrangements? What should I ask her when we meet? How do we discuss the topic to work on ? She is giving me an opportunity (she has written many good papers, I have not) , so I know it is up to her to have the deciding say on what we do, although of course, I too, should have some input on this. How is this usually addressed/dealt with?
    I don't know if I am overthinking it. Am I? Hope those with experience in these arrangements can give some ideas.
    Thanks,
    WWGD: What Would Gauss Do?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 16, 2014 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor