Explaining role of Pions in Strong force interactions.

In summary, the diagram explains how pions are created when quarks and antiquarks interact to create gluons. The pion is then absorbed by the neutron, which changes the proton into a neutron.
JacobS.
Let me start off by saying that I am no professor of any kind, i am simply a high school student in way over his head concerning particle interactions. Without a class to teach me, i have used the magic of the internet to attempt to get a rudimentary understanding of these interactions. I understand (somewhat) color charge and how it works, how the gluons facilitate the color change. I understand that in simplified terms, the strong interaction between hadrons is like excess color force from inside the particle. What i don't understand is how pions facilitate this force, for all i know i have this all wrong. the information I am trying to understand came from this picture. Any help by explaining this picture would be great, preferably in layman's terms with as little math as possible.

strglu.gif

Physics news on Phys.org
Are you familiar with the idea that an electron and a positron can combine to become a photon, or the reverse process, that a photon can turn into an electron and a positron? Something similar applies to gluons: a gluon can split into a quark and an antiquark, or a quark and an antiquark can combine into a gluon.

If we just focus on the neutron in the left diagram, starting from the bottom (time goes upwards), what happens is that one of the down quarks emits a gluon, and the gluon splits into an up quark and an up antiquark. The down quark and the up antiquark combine to make a pion, which leaves, and the new up quark takes the place of the original down quark. But now that makes the overall particle a proton, rather than a neutron.