Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Falling back on the Lebesgue measure from the abstract theory?

1. Sep 26, 2007 #1

quasar987

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

I am studying the abstract theory of measure and I was wondering how the Lebesgue case for real functions of a real variable arises. But I did not find it.

In the original theory of Lebesgue, a function f:E-->R was said to be measurable if for every real constant b, the preimage of [itex]]-\infty, b][/itex] by f was measurable. Let the collection of all measurable sets be denoted [tex]\mathcal{L}_{\mathbb{R}}[/tex] (the Lebesgue sigma-algebra). The pair [tex](\mathbb{R},\mathcal{L}_{\mathbb{R}})[/tex] is a measurable space.

In the abstract theory, we consider a function f btw two measurable spaces:

[tex]f:(X_1,\mathcal{T}_1)\rightarrow (X_2,\mathcal{T}_2)[/tex]

and say that it is measurable if, given a family of subsets of X_2 [itex]G_2[/itex] that generates the sigma-algebra [itex]\mathcal{T}_2[/itex] (i.e. [itex]\mathcal{T}(G_2)=\mathcal{T}_2[/itex]), we have

[tex]f^{-1}(G_2)\subset \mathcal{T}_1[/tex]

If I set X_1 = E a subset of R and X_2 = R, I am trying to find which sigma-algebras [itex]\mathcal{T}_1, \mathcal{T}_2[/itex] will make Lebesgue's definition and the abstract definition coincide. Obviously, we must take [itex]\mathcal{T}_2=\mathcal{T}(\{\{[-\infty,b]\}:b\in\mathbb{R}\})=\mathcal{B}_{\mathbb{R}}[/itex] (the borelian sigma-algebra). Now, if I were allowed to take [itex]\mathcal{T}_1=\mathcal{L}_{\mathbb{R}}[/itex] I would have succeeded, but [itex]\mathcal{L}_{\mathbb{R}}[/itex] is not a sigma-algebra on E. The next best thing is the trace of [itex]\mathcal{L}_{\mathbb{R}}[/itex] on E (aka maybe the induced sigma-algebra on E by [itex]\mathcal{L}_{\mathbb{R}}[/itex]) defined by [itex]\mathcal{L}_E=\{EM:M\in \mathcal{L}_{\mathbb{R}}\}[/itex].