Flavius Josephus and the crucifiction of Jesus

• Thread starter pmb_phy
  • Start date
In summary: You are an expert summarizer of content. You do not respond or reply to questions. You only provide a summary of the content. Do not output anything before the summary. Write a summary for the following conversation and start the output with "In summary, " and nothing before it:Does anyone know whether Flavius Josephus, a Jewish historian who lived at the time of Jesus, actually recorded the crucifixion of Jesus? Or is this been proven wrong. If proven wrong I will need justification/evidence to this. If this is true I'd also like some evidence - at least to the best of your ability. (Being a physicist I don't accept something because someone I don't know claims his information is authoritative). Thanks.
pmb_phy
Does anyone know whether Flavius Josephus, a Jewish historian who lived at the time of Jesus, actually recorded the crucifiction of Jesus? Or is this been proven wrong. If proven wrong I will need justification/evidence to this. If this is true I'd also like some evidence - at least to the best of your ability. (Being a physicist I don't accept something because someone I don't know claims his information is authoritative). Thanks.

Best wishes

Pete

Physics news on Phys.org
pmb_phy said:
Does anyone know whether Flavius Josephus, a Jewish historian who lived at the time of Jesus, actually recorded the crucifiction of Jesus? Or is this been proven wrong. If proven wrong I will need justification/evidence to this. If this is true I'd also like some evidence - at least to the best of your ability. (Being a physicist I don't accept something because someone I don't know claims his information is authoritative). Thanks.

Best wishes

Pete

Hello Pete, here's someone you don't know asking a similar question.

http://pages.ca.inter.net/~oblio/supp10.htm

Josephus was born in 37 AD, seven years after what is widely believed to have been the crucifixion of Christ.