Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fluid Mechanics Graduate Program

1. Mar 14, 2013 #1
    I'll be starting a graduate program in a computational science department in September. My research will be in the field of Fluid Mechanics. However, I don't come from an engineering background. My undergraduate degree is in Applied Mathematics where I studied ODEs, PDEs, Calculus, Algebra, Numerical Analysis, FEM, FDM, Complex Analysis and Optimization.

Can someone provide me with a good starting point and a path that I should take to get up to speed with Fluid Mechanics? I have 6 months to get my feet...wet. haha.

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 14, 2013 #2
    Getting to know how to use ANSYS Fluent and CFX should be helpful

4. Mar 14, 2013 #3
    1. Start with a Fox & McDonald Introduction to Fluid Mechanics book.
    2. Watch the experimental fluid mechanics videos stuck to the top of this forum.

5. Mar 14, 2013 #4
    The book by Kundu and Cohen is quite excellent, as it covers applications and theory.

The book by Frank M. White is the most popular amongst pure engineers, but it's the ire of theorists!

The best fluids book from a purely theoretical perspective is Landau and Lifgarbagez.

6. Mar 14, 2013 #5

boneh3ad

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It would be better to ask what area of fluid mechanics you intend to be working in. The topic is big in a number of fields, including mechanical engineering, aerospace engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, and applied mechanics/mathematics and the best place to start would depend largely on the type of work you will be doing in fluid mechanics.