1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Flying squirrel intercepting nut midair

1. Aug 7, 2014 #1
    It has been a while since I graduated, so I'm a bit rusty. This is actually a real life problem, so I'm not sure the level of math needed to solve it. (Move to a different forum if appropriate.)

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    A nut is rolling off a table and falling to the ground (its direction, velocity are known). Some unknown time after the nut starts falling, a flying squirrel hanging on one of the table legs starts gliding to intercept it. The horizontal and vertical velocity of the squirrel are known, but its flight angle around the vertical axis is unknown. The squirrel intercepts the nut at an unknown time.

Here are the variables I've been using in my model:

--- constants
    g = gravity

nvx = nut x velocity
    nvz = nut x velocity

svh = squirrel horizontal velocity
    svy = squirrel drop velocity

sipx = squirrel initial x position (relative to nut initial position)
    sipz = squirrel initial z position (relative to nut initial position)
    sipy = squirrel initial vertical position (relative to nut initial position)

--- unknowns
    svx = squirrel x velocity
    svz = squirrel x velocity
    ndd = nut drop distance before interception
    ssd = squirrel glide start delay
    t = time of interception
    dx = distance on x axis the squirrel must glide
    dz = distance on z axis the squirrel must glide

2. Relevant equations
    I feel like these should be enough to figure it all out. I think there should be only one solution (assuming time is playing forward.)

svz = sqrt(svh^2 - svx^2)

dx = (nvx * t) - sipx
    dz = (nvz * t) - sipz

t = sqrt(2 * ndd / g)
    t = dx / svx + ssd
    t = dz / svz + ssd