From Cognitive Science to Physics

In summary, the speaker is a student studying Cognitive Science in Germany who is interested in Quantum Physics and wants to do research on human consciousness. However, they have a limited background in physics and are unsure of how to pursue a Master's degree in physics. They mention a book by physicist Roger Penrose as a potential resource and suggest joining a multi-disciplinary team for employment opportunities.
SmokinC
Hi,

I am studying Cognitive Science in Germany and I am going to graduate next summer. But now I do not know what to do next.
Or more precisely I do not know how to go on. I am very interested in Quantum Physics and somehow I regret that I have not study physics in the first place (nevertheless Cognitive Science and Neuroscience is pretty interesting), because it is extremely hard or maybe even impossible to do a Masters degree in physics with a Bachelor in Neuroscience. More detailed I want to do research on human consciousness (and probably conscious AI^^ as well) and to my mind macroscopic neuronal processes and related chemical processes are not sufficient alone to explain human consciousness (and other related stuff like Qualia), rather to my mind Quantum Physics plays a key role in conscious phenomena. But my problem is I do not know anything about Quantum Physics (except wikipedia blabla) but I definitely want to study it. How?

Do I have to start all over again and begin a physics bachelor? I do not really want to consider that as an option because for sure the first year of every bachelor's degree deals more with getting used to university than real studying, further I do want to avoid redundant repetition of courses, like basic statistics, basic math and introduction to computing etc. Further losing 3 more years seems to me extremely scary, because I am already 22 and I do not want to get my PHD in my mid thirties :(.