1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Futher maths reading for a physics graduate

1. Mar 21, 2008 #1
    Im a physics graduate, well nearly, graduating in 4 weeks time, and I get the feeling I dont know as much maths as I should. The most taxing things Ive ever been taught within the course are operators, like the Hamiltonian, or div and curl of vector functions. I dont really know where to go for further mathematical methods.

Also, if I graduate with a 2:2, how likely is it to get a phd position in britian? and how could I improve my chances? I honestly have no idea what my grade will be, and Im too scared to work it out, but I doubt its a 2:1.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 21, 2008 #2
    Perhaps check out books such as "Mathematical Physics" by Hassani or "Mathematical Methods for Physicists" by Arfken. It really completely depends on what type of grad studies you plan to be going into. It wouldn't make sense to suggest differential forms and tensor analysis if you're not going to be studying GR or field theory, or analytical mechanics..
  4. Mar 21, 2008 #3
    So what you are saying is my rather limited maths knowledge is the norm for a graduate? Because, even though I only did maths to as level, most of it is only A-level stuff at best. My statistical analysis course uses matrices for example, and my tutor gave a "bluffers" guide to them in excel. Which seems a little lame. Considering you can use matrix solutions to the Schroedinger Equation. As well as a hell of alot of figure of merit stuff in statistical analysis. Chi^2 for example has a matrix method.
  5. Mar 21, 2008 #4